Buy The Book

Amazon Amazon UK Barnes and Noble iBooks Kobo Google Play Smashwords

The Heart Goes On

He drew in a deep breath. “I know it’s too much to ask, but I ask it anyway… Will you wait for me, Harriet?”

1819, Isle of Mull, Scotland: As Harriet Campbell looks out at the stormy Atlantic Ocean on the eve of Allan MacDougall’s departure to the New World, she expects a tearful goodbye. But instead her childhood sweetheart begs her to wait for him, promising one day he will come back for her.

As months and eventually years pass—waiting for just one love letter to arrive —Harriet begins to regret the promise she made. Not realising his letters have gone astray, Allan is devastated to not hear back from Harriet; his heart quietly breaking as he battles for his independence and ultimately his life, in the wild and brutal new settlements.

Then, Harriet’s fragile family fortunes take a turn for the worse, and when an immoral neighbour makes her an offer she isn’t sure she can refuse, she’s left with an impossible choice—stay faithful to the man she loves… or save her family and their farm from destitution?

Can fate bring Harriet and Allan back together again? Or will time and the ocean that has separated them, keep them apart forever?

An absolutely heart-wrenching, powerful, epic story about love, courage and betrayal for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Poldark.

Previously published as Far Horizons.

▼ Behind The Scenes

Copyright © 2007-2024 Kate Hewitt. All rights reserved.
Website by Swank Web Design.